Kotamreddy Sridhar Reddy Vemireddy Prabhakar Reddy

Along with Rayalaseema, the Nellore district has always been a strong forte for the YSR Congress since its inception. It is always the case with Congress and the same has been passed on to YSR Congress after YSR’s demise.

In the 2014 elections when TDP won, the party could only manage three seats out of the ten in the district.

In 2019, the party drew a blank here.

But then, Nellore is one district where the change first began.

We have seen YSR Congress sitting MLAs like Kotamreddy Sridhar Reddy, Anam Ram Narayana Reddy, and Mekapati Chandrasekhar Reddy leave the party and join TDP one year before the election. Recently, we saw Vemireddy Prabhakar Reddy, the strong man of the district for YSR Congress join the TDP.

These joinings indicate a wave for TDP like never before in the district.

To counter the mess somehow, Jagan air-dropped Vijayasai Reddy from Vizag to Nellore Parliament

According to the surveys, TDP is looking at winning six seats, edge in one seat and there is a keen contest in another seat.

TDP is comfortable in Nellore City, Nellore Rural, Kovur, Gudur, Venkatgiri, and Atmakur. It has a slight edge in Udaygiri if elections are to be held now.

In Udaygiri, TDP’s Kakarla Suresh has slight edge over YSR Congress’s Mekapati Raja Gopal Reddy.

There is a keen contest happening in Sarvepalli. TDP’s Senior leader Somireddy Chandrasekhar Reddy was given one more chance from Sarvepalli even though he won three elections on a trot. Up against Minister Kakani Govardhan Reddy, Somireddy is hoping the Sympathy factor will also help him.

Narayana did good work in the City between 2014 and 2019 as the MA&UD Minister but lost by a slight margin due to Jagan’s wave. He is comfortable right now.

Kotamreddy Sridhar Reddy is winning Nellore Rural comfortably. YSR Congress’s Meruga Murali is trailing in Gudur.

Vemireddy family is comfortably winning. Vemireddy Prashanthi Reddy is ahead in Kovur while Prabhakar Reddy is expecting a big majority for Nellore Parliament.

That means Vijayasai Reddy will lose his maiden election.

Anam Ram Narayana Reddy is also ahead in Atmakuru.

As of today, YSR Congress is winning comfortably only in Sullurpeta and has an edge in Kavali.