The MPs of Congress and YSR Congress have displayed a double stand on Polavaram issue in Lok Sabha today. While BJP and TDP issued a whip for their MPs to attend the session and vote in favour of Polavaram amendment, YSR Congress, the main opposition party in AP did not issue any whip. YSRCP Khammam MP supported the TRS MPs protesting against the bill. Some of their Andhra MPs were absent from the house and other MPs did not support their Andhra counterparts in countering Telangana MPs. TDP criticizes that YSRCP do not want TDP and BJP to get the credit of Polavaram and is playing ugly politics in this important issue.

On the other side, Congress too displayed similar stance. The Congress Prime Minister Manmohan Singh announced in Parliament during their tenure that they will bring an ordinance to include 7 mandals of Bhadrachalam to AP. Even though this bill was satisfying their promise. Congress chose to be neutral in the voting on this issue. While Congress has no representation in AP, its sole MP from Telangana, Gutta Sukvinder Reddy strictly opposed the bill. However Congress’ support will become crucial when the bill is introduced in Rajya Sabha where it has majority.