The controversial Nellore Zilla Parishad election finally ended. The election which was already postponed twice took place today. The election ended up as a draw with both the parties getting equal number of votes (23). Finally the district collector decided to go for lottery and in the lucky draw, YSR Congress got both the Nellore ZP Chairman and Deputy Chairman posts.

Bommireddy Raghavendra Reddy from YSRCP was announced the Chairman and Sirisha of the same party was declared the Vice Chairman. Earlier in the morning, Lottery was conducted for co-option members too. YSR Congress and Telugu Desam Party won each of the two members. After the election results, YSR Congress bagged the majority ZP members. However TDP pinned hopes on this ZP with 6 members from YSR Congress decided to support TDP in the election. Needless to say the ruling party will be certainly disappointed with this result.