RCB's Flop Show

The Rajasthan Royals (RR) clinched victory over Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) in Ahmedabad, securing a spot in the 2024 Indian Premier League (IPL) Qualifier 2. Chasing 173 runs, RR prevailed with Rovman Powell’s stellar performance.

RCB’s top-four batters, Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis, Cameron Green, and Rajat Patidar, made promising starts after opting to bat first.

Also Read – India @ Super 8: 1 Easy, 1 Mid, 1 Tough

However, Glenn Maxwell’s dismissal for a golden duck, along with Mahipal Lomror and Swapnil Singh’s contributions, couldn’t save the day. RR’s Yashasvi Jaiswal, Riyan Parag, and Shimron Hetmyer also played significant innings before Powell sealed the win.

Glenn Maxwell: The Biggest Disappointment

Also Read – Pak Captain Babar Azam Isn’t Worth Kohli’s Shoe

Glenn Maxwell, hailed as the ‘Big Show’ in the IPL, was RCB’s biggest letdown this season. With his fourth duck of the season, he shares the record for the second-most ducks in a single IPL season and the most career ducks in IPL history, alongside Dinesh Karthik.

Maxwell’s dismissal by Ravichandran Ashwin, who also took down Cameron Green, was pivotal. Maxwell’s golden duck in the IPL 2024 Eliminator at the world’s largest cricket stadium tied him with Karthik’s record. Following Maxwell and Karthik, Rohit Sharma has 17 ducks in IPL, while Piyush Chawla, Mandeep Singh, and Sunil Narine have 15 each.

Also Read – Ind Vs Pak Match: Ticket Costs Rs 1.46 Crore

Virat Kohli: Scored 33 runs, becoming the first player to reach 8,000 runs in the IPL.

Yuzvendra Chahal: Took one wicket, becoming RR’s highest wicket-taker in the IPL, surpassing Siddharth Trivedi’s record.

Chahal’s Record: Also holds the record for being the highest wicket-taker for multiple teams in the IPL, having taken 139 wickets for RCB from 2014 to 2021.

Rovman Powell: Equaled the record for most catches by a non-wicketkeeper in an IPL playoff game, taking four catches.

Next Match

Rajasthan Royals will take on Sunrisers Hyderabad in Qualifier 2. SRH lost the first Qualifier to Kolkata Knight Riders, who await the winner of Qualifier 2 in the final.