Single Vote Decide Election Results

In the world of numbers, the number ‘one’ might seem small, but when it comes to winning, that ‘1’ becomes very important.

In the drama of Indian elections, the saying ‘by a whisker’ goes beyond words—it captures the moments when winning or losing is decided by the tiniest of differences. Each vote is incredibly important and can change the path of political history.

Back in the 2004 Karnataka assembly elections, AR Krishnamurthy lost to Congress’s R Dhruvanarayan by just one vote in the Santhemarahalli (SC) seat. A similar story unfolded in the 2008 Rajasthan assembly elections in Nathdwara, where Congress’s CP Joshi faced BJP’s Kalyan Singh Chouhan. Chouhan won by only one vote.

Lok Sabha elections also had close victories. In 1989, Congress’s Konathala Ramakrishna got just nine more votes than the runner-up in the Anakapalli seat of Andhra Pradesh.

In 1998, BJP’s Som Marandi won from the Rajmahal Lok Sabha seat in Bihar with a margin of only nine votes. In 2014, Thupstan Chhewang of the BJP won from Ladakh with just a 36-vote difference.

CP Joshi in Rajasthan and AR Krishnamurthy in Karnataka faced surprises—Joshi lost by just one vote, and Krishnamurthy’s driver couldn’t vote, adding to his narrow loss.