Sunrisers Hyderabad

The Hyderabad team has won two IPL titles since the inception of this premier league and both times the team was led by Australian players.

In 2009, under the captaincy of Adam Gilchrist, the team then known as the Deccan Chargers secured a remarkable victory in the IPL, rebounding from a lackluster inaugural season where they finished at the bottom.

Also Read – T20 WC: Biggest Dilemma For Desis In The US?

The return of Andrew Symonds, Rohit Sharma’s resurgence, and Gilchrist’s leadership bolstered the side.

In 2016, the hugely popular Australian cricketer David Warner led Sunrisers Hyderabad to victory as captain.

Also Read – India @ WC: 1 Big Worry, 1 Big Positive

Under his exceptional leadership, they were crowned champions after defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final, concluding the season with 11 wins and six losses.

Now again in 2024, Pat Cummins, another Australian cricketer, leads SRH. His leadership has been outstanding, guiding the team to the finals after defeating Rajasthan Royals in the qualifier. This marks SRH’s third finals appearance.

Also Read – World Cup: Will Canada Sentiment Work For India?

Cummins’ impact goes beyond just his leadership on the field. His signing, along with Travis Head, laid the foundation for SRH’s resurgence after missing playoffs for three seasons.

Despite finishing last in 2023, Cummins’ arrival has sparked a remarkable turnaround for the franchise.

With the IPL final against KKR approaching, Cummins has the opportunity to join the ranks of legendary bowling captains like Shane Warne by potentially finishing the season with the most wickets and lifting the coveted trophy.

We have to see how this Australian sentiment pans out for Sunrisers Hyderabad team tomorrow.